It all started with a dream and $50

…and the rest is history!

Lawnside Scholarship Club

The Club awards $7,750 each year and administers nearly $9,000 in grants from individuals and community groups to eligible students graduating from any high school who have lived in Lawnside for at least four years.
Through the generosity of the late Elizabeth Jones of Lawnside, the Club has been able to expand its giving and increase its awards. Additionally, the $500 Elizabeth Jones Award for Academic Excellence is presented to each graduate with an average of 93 or better.

The Club gives scholarships to the top four graduates from Lawnside in addition to the awards below.

Lawnside Scholarship Club and Community Awards

Students are chosen for these awards based on their expressed career interests, extracurricular activities and grade point averages. With one exception (Bryson C. Armstead Award), there is no application form that must be completed for community awards.

The Club presents book awards as well and administers awards from individuals and organizations to students with particular career goals, excellence in specific subjects, musical, artistic or athletic talent and much more.

Club Awards

Elizabeth Jones Academic Excellence Award

Student with a GPA of 93 or better.

Linese Miller Award *

Student showing outstanding leadership & initiative

Helen Mae Henderson Teaching Award *

Student entering education field for teaching

LSC Creative & Performing Arts Award

Student who has excelled in any of the creative or performing arts: Music, Acting Directing, Dance, Artist, etc.

* Presented at Haddon Heights High School graduation

(L-R): Sandra Carter with her sister Michelle Carter, 1982 top recipient and Club member, at the 2019 Jazz Brunch and Salute to Seniors, Tavistock Country Club, Haddonfield.
(L-R): Scholarship recipients Bilal Qadar, Haddon Heights HS; Alanna Jones, Haddon Heights HS; Raneem Sirag, Haddon, Heights HS; Tyler Raysor, Haddon Heights HS
Members of the Class of 2017 gather before the Jazz Brunch and Salute to Seniors at Tavistock Country Club in Haddonfield, NJ.

current awards

Community & Individual Awards

Students are chosen for these awards based on their expressed career interests, extracurricular activities and grade point averages.

  • Ephraim J. & Mary C. Still Award* – a student showing most improvement in four years
  • Helen Mae Henderson Nursing Award* – a student entering health field
  • Dorothea Carter Memorial Award – a student needing financial assistance for college
  • Dwight & Yvonne Anderson Award – students (one female & one male) with most improved grades in their senior year
  • Lawnside Parent Teacher Association – unsung student heroes given to (one female & one male)
  • Dr. William Young Award – male student pursuing higher education and entering a health science field
  • Dr. Flora Young Award – female student pursuing higher education with highest average in Social Science
  • Edna Jay Sports Award – a student outstanding in sports
  • Madge Mitchell Math Award – a student outstanding in math
  • Melody Moss Walcott Award – a student entering law
  • Amos & Roxie Rogers Memorial Award – a student pursuing a career in cosmetology or barbering. If there is no student entering neither of these fields, then a student entering another vocation
  • Edna Harper Service Award – a student displaying good citizenship/service
  • Masjid Freehaven Model Citizen Award – service-oriented student with spotless disciplinary record (not necessarily at top of class); exhibits highest moral character
  • Sonia Farmer Character Award – a student displaying outstanding character
  • Joy M. Harper Award – a student pursuing a degree in the field of Education
  • Henry Long Memorial Award – a student excelling in Computer Science
  • Curtis and Lula Moss Activity Award – a student who participated in the most school activities (no service points or academic standing to be considered)
  • Raymond G. Davis, Jr. Memorial Award – a student who perseveres to the end (not necessarily at top of class)
  • Dr. & Mrs. Cecil Still Award – outstanding student entering science or medical field
  • Steven Israel Sports Awards – a student outstanding in sports, and one student unsung hero
  • I. R. & Anna J. Bryant Award – a student outstanding in Accounting or Business
  • Leon N. Williams Law Award – a student pursuing a career in law
  • Walter A. Gaines Natural Science Award – a student pursuing higher education with highest average in Natural Science
  • Rick Williams Health Services Award – a student pursuing a career in the field of healthcare
    Bryson C. Armstead Award – a student with determination, drive and pursuing higher education, has no more than five unexcused absences per year (four years of high school career), needed federal/state assistance from child nutrition programs during school years
  • Thomas A Whitaker Scholarship for Mechanical Advancement – a student with 2.8 GPA or higher going into a career, post- secondary, 2- or 4-year institution with focus in a mechanical field. Student must have taken one or more classes with a focus in a mechanical understanding such as Drafting, Cad, Automotive, etc.
  • Bertha M. Cobia Award – a student who has shown great improvement

* Presented at Haddon Heights High School graduation

Past Award Winners

Don't miss out on important dates and information!

Sign up to get notifications of important dates to apply for scholarships!

No spam, notifications only about new products, updates and freebies.
You can always unsubscribe.